The Tadeusz Sendzimir Award Recipients

Tadeusz Sendzimir(1894-1989) received worldwide recognition for his outstanding and numerous contributions to metallurgy. By the early 1980s up to 90 percent of the world's stainless steel passed through the Sendzimir process. Overall, Tadeusz Sendzimir, and the company he founded, has helped to alter the complete technological processes in steel rolling over the last six decades.

The Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences of America (PIASA) is a Polish-American scholarly institution that grants The Tadeusz Sendzimir Applied Science Award for Outstanding Poles in the field of Applied Sciences. Click here for the list of all PIASA awards.

The following scientists and engineers have been the recipients of the PIASA Sendzimir Award:

2023 – Tomasz Wierzbicki, MIT.

2022 – Marcin Żukowski, Snowflake Inc.

2021 – Witold F. Krajewski, University of Iowa.

2020 – Władek Minor, University of Virginia.

2020 – Zbyszek Otwinowski, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas.

2019 – Halina Zyczynski, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.

2018 – Tomasz Imielinski, Rutgers University.

2017 – Anne Wojcicki, 23andMe.

2001 – Wladyslaw Koleczko, Polish Association of Inventors and Industrial Innovators in Warsaw.

1998 – Thaddeus B. Massalski, Carnegie Mellon University.

1997 – Stanislaw Gorczyca, Academy of Mining and Metallurgy.

1996 – Stanislaw Mrozowski, SUNY at Buffalo.